I do believe it is time for another adventure!

I do believe it is time for another adventure!

I have to admit, this picture stirs something up deep inside of me. It says it all. The excitement, uncertainty, the emotions I was feeling, and the freedom. It reminds me, of the adventure, and the wild abandon we had back when we didn’t have a care in the world. We had all just finished a 1 year work contract in Guam working for a hotel, as clubmates “ambassadors of fun” and had saved up enough money to travel. I remember talking the HR lady into allowing me to use my comp return ticket back to the US (paid by the hotel after completion of your work contract) to use to fly round trip from Guam to Bali. I had no idea how long I was going to stay there, and no idea how I would return to the States. I recall walking to this  very shady looking plane, thinking to myself, OKAY, we are going to just hop into that, and fly to some remote islands in Indonesia I had never heard of. We were heading to the Gili Islands. One of the guys in our group had met a Japanese girl at the resort, and it turned out her grandpa had a house in Lombok, and a little guest house on the island of Gili Meno called Casablanca. First we had to fly to Lombok, and then they would take us by boat to the Gili Meno. She had been going to Indonesia since she was a child, so we were in good hands.

We all had an amazing time. We ended up spending over a month travelling all around. Sometimes we would split up, but always converge back together in some serendipitous way. My boyfriend at the time, flew over, we fought, he left. Our other friend, made a Balinese boyfriend and she was off having her romance. Others were busy partaking in the local offerings. Magic Teas, milkshakes. Only memories we can cherish and share. Spending the whole day on the beach in a milkshake haze, giving advise to a local who wanted to bring his young brother there, and leave him to find a job. I talked him out of it, and advised him to take him back to one of the bigger chain hotels, where he could make a name for himself, in all of my wisdom at the time. Making sand sculptures of turtles and ice cream cones with the children for hours…and riding the boat back from Gili Trawangan to Gili Meno at sunset.

Towards the end of the trip, it was down to just a few of us. I experienced the WORST case of food poisoning in a hotel room in Kuta with the last 2 boys of the group. 3 days of fever, chills, and worse. They were kind enough to go out and  get me medicine, bring me sprites, and take care of me. We all flew back to Guam to ring in the millennium. After that, we never saw each other again. It was one of the best times I have had in my life. We have stayed in touch over the years, because we all experienced and shared something so special and so profound. All have went off to become professionals of some sort, get married and start families. One devout church member, whos cahoots best go unspoken.

That time we shared was so joyous and carefree. So this picture symbolizes what travel is all about. That is why I started this blog. To reignite the spark and fire in our souls for the love of travel adventures and experiences of the unknown.

Leave a Reply

